April Is Check Your Helmet Month

I didn’t know. Probably because I live in a State (Florida) where there is no helmet law. So, do you know how often should a helmet be replaced and how snug should it really fit? These are two key questions to which few are able to correctly answer. Of course, Harley-Davidson would like you to go to your dealership to show your helmet and get advice. Based on helmet manufacturer and SNELL Memorial Foundation recommendations, helmets should be replaced every 3 to 5 years, depending on use and wear (may I add smell?). This info and more is also available in “The Heads-Up on Helmets” brochure which is available at your HD dealership. Starting this month, dealers are adhering Purchased-On Date Stickers at the time of purchase on the inside of helmets under the comfort liner. This provides customers with an accurate date of purchase and a useful reminder for when to replace their helmets.


2 Responses to “April Is Check Your Helmet Month”

  1. 1 DRAGON Apr 16th, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    ok i can’t this one is way to easy (HELMET LAW SUCK’S AND NOW THEY ARE GOING TO PUT A DATE ON IT)LMAO

  2. 2 Sandie Apr 30th, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    I was in Melbourne, Florida this afternoon and sitting at a stop light. A young man pulled up next to me on a nice new Harley, I was checking it out and saw the Palm Bay Harley Davidson license plate frame, the tag I did a double take. Florida had two plates for a motorcycle. A regular State of Florida and a Patriotic Red, White and Blue plate. This bike had a new one that caught my eye…..Florida was at the top, tag number in middle in red letters and numbers and the bottom in red letters said driver under 21 years. I rolled down my window and said “nice bike” and then asked about the plate. I was informed that he had just traded up from a Sporty 1200 to a Dyna. He could not transfer his tag from the sporty because a new law went into effect about two months ago. The new law is that you must be over the age of 21 years old in the State of Florida to operate a motorcycle without a helmet. So now, Florida only lets you ride without a helmet if your are 21 or older. I saw nothing about this in the newspapers or on television. I watch and read the news daily. I was surprised and learned something new.

Comments are currently closed.



Facebook Google+ Twitter