2013 AMA Motorcycle Hall Of Fame Nominees

AMAPotential AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers are considered in eight categories, each focused on a specific area of achievement: Ambassadors & Industry, Design & Engineering, Dirt Track, Leadership & Motorcycle Rights, Motocross & Supercross, Off-Road, Roadracing and Specialty Competition.

Voting for the 2013 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2013 has been completed and this year’s class is comprised of six individuals who will now be immortalized in the Hall: Ricky Carmichael, Danny Hamel, Norm McDonald, Randy Renfrow and Mike and Dianne Traynor.

“The Greatest of All Time, an AMA and Baja racing standout, a well-known industry business veteran, a multi-talented AMA roadracer and a visionary couple of motorcyclists who started the Ride for Kids program and raised millions of dollars from fellow riders — I can’t think of a more wide-ranging and well-deserving class of inductees,” said Jeffrey V. Heininger, chairman of the AMHF, which oversees the Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 will be officially inducted on Friday, Oct. 18, during the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legends Weekend in a star-studded gala at Las Vegas’ Green Valley Resort & Casino, with tickets available to the general public. at Motorcycle Museum.  (Price is $140 for Friday night’s induction ceremony, and $20 for Saturday’s reception, which includes a continental breakfast.) Also featured at the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are two Hall of Fame Legends — existing members of the Hall of Fame whose lifetime accomplishments are highlighted.

The 2013 Legends are: Mark Blackwell, a pioneering racer in American motocross, a six-time AMA championship race team manager and a well-respected executive in the motorcycle industry; and Torsten Hallman, a four-time World Motocross champion who was instrumental in introducing the sport of motocross to America and founded the Thor brand.


4 Responses to “2013 AMA Motorcycle Hall Of Fame Nominees”

  1. 1 Jerry Jul 16th, 2013 at 9:33 am

    The only museum where to be a member is worth anything.

  2. 2 Rodent Jul 17th, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Wasamatter, you don’t like the sturgis hall of fame?

  3. 3 Kirk Perry Jul 19th, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    “I can’t think of a more wide-ranging and well-deserving class of inductees, unless of course, it also included Cyril Huze,” said Jeffrey V. Heininger, chairman of the AMHF, which oversees the Hall of Fame.

  4. 4 pokergolf420 Jul 22nd, 2013 at 8:48 am

    I got to meet Torsten Hallman 2 weeks ago at the Hopetown Reunion, along with Malcom Smith, Roger DeCoster, Joel Robert, J.R. Roberts, Eddie Mulder, Ricky Johnson, Gary Baily, Rex Staten, Brad Lackey, Dan Gurney and a bunch of other racing legends. If you ever get the chance to go it’s an awesome event.

Comments are currently closed.
Harley Davidson Footwear
Affliction Holdings, LLC


Facebook Google+ Twitter